TAC Presentation Evening 2008

posted 10 Dec 2009, 09:51 by Telford Athletic Club   [ updated 29 Oct 2018, 02:46 by Mandy Garrott ]
Saturday 11th October 2008 – Park Inn Hotel, Telford

See Full List of Award Winners

Di Davies with Bethan Partridge and Jim Tipper

UK High Jump Record Holder Di Davies,from Leicester who is still the holder of one of the oldest records in UK athletics which she set when clearing 1.95m,in Norway in 1982, was the guest of honour at the Telford Athletic Club's Annual Presentation Evening at the Park Inn Hotel, Telford. Two hundred enthusiastic members family and friends saw 75 trophies presented to Telford athletes that had been won at cross country and road, indoor, track and field.

Bethan Partridge and Jim Tipper won the outstanding track and field performances of the year. Bethan won the senior girls English Schools high and it was very appropriate that it was the best high jumper in the country who presented her award. Jim won his award for the part he played in being part of the GB Masters 4 x 100m relay team that set a new world record this year. The best international performance was won by Kim Fawke for her performance representing England at the Toronto Marathon.The best performances at the Telford Games went to Hayley Rubery and Ben Simons and the best performances at the Shropshire AA Championships went to brother and sister Aidan and Amelia Reynolds.

Leading track and field specialist awards went to junior sprinter Grace Smith and Toby Birtwhistle, junior hurdler Charlotte Monk and Phil Shotton,junior distance runner Harriet Grandfield and James Wilkins, junior thrower Hayley Rubery and Robert Millar, junior jumper Sophie Worrall and Mitchell Jenderko and junior combined event athletes Sophie Worrall and Edward Dawes. the senior awards went to sprinter Sinead Johnson and Jim Tipper, hurdler Lucy Ferguson, middle distance Chris Carter and Cerian Lancaster, distance runner Hayely Jennings and Chris Bagshaw, thrower Amelia Reynolds and Ian Taylor, jumper Bethan Partridge and Edward Dawes.

The best cross country performances were won by Claire Martin, retaining the Midland Womens Xc League title and Chris Rimmer for his victory in the Shropshire Championships. The junior awrads went to Harriet Grandfield, who was the top Shropshire performer in the National, Inter Counties and England Schools whilst the boys award went to Alex Russell. Richard Lucock who has only been running for just twelve months collected the most improved road and cross country award. The most improved young cross country awards went to Hollie Climo and Toby Birtwhistle.The Battery Trophy awards for athletes gaining the most points over the cross country season went to Calire Martin and Chris Bagshaw, whilst Lisa Blagden and Rick Hailey won the veterans section.

The leading indoor awards went to Sophie Worrall and Mitchell Jenderko for the best junior performances whilst the senior awards went to Bethan Partridge and Ben Riekstins.