TAC Presentation Evening 2007

posted 10 Dec 2009, 09:31 by Telford Athletic Club   [ updated 29 Oct 2018, 02:46 by Mandy Garrott ]
Friday 12-Oct-07, Telford Park Inn

Full list of award winners

James Hopley and Bethan Partridge, collected two of the main awards at the Telford Athletic Club Annual Presesntation Evening held at the Park Inn Hotel, Telford on Friday. One of the club's founder members and former chairman John Reade was the special guest who presented the awards to young athletes and seniors from the cross country, road, track and field and fell sections of the club.

Bethan Partridge from Bridgnorth, who is ranked 9th in the country in the Under 20's high jump,won the leading female track and field award, whilst James Hopley won the male equivalent for his superb javelin performances over the season that saw him ranked 2nd in the Under 23 age group and 12th in the senior mens category. The Best International Performance award was won by Jim Tipper who finished 3rd in the World Veterans 200m in Italy recently. Alvin Ffrench won the Hartshorne Trophy for his tremendous support behind the scenes at the club.

The junior athletes of the season track and field awards went to Sprinters - Ben Riekstins and Grace Smith, Hurdlers - Phil Shotton and Charlotte Monk, Distance - Chris Carter and Cerian Lancaster, Throwers - Robert Millar and Amelia Reynolds, Jumpers - Edward Dawes and Laura Gibbons, Combined Events - Edward Dawes and Charlotte MOnk.

Winners of the senior athletes of the year awards were Sprinter Jim Tipper and Sinead Johnson, Hurdlers - Iain Moody and Lucy Ferguson, Middle Distance Gary Vickers and Sian Davies, Distance - Steve Neill and Cathy Ansell, Thrower - James Hopley and Cheryl Ganderton, Jumper - Ben Cocker and Bethan Partridge.

The most improved young athletes awards were awarded to Sprinters - Mitchell Jenderko and Laura Gibbons, Hurdlers - Tobi Ogundipe and Sophie Worrall, Distance - Ryan Heath and Kelsey Collins, Thrower - Aiden Reynolds and Chloe Murphy, Jumpers - David Samuels and Fiona Le Brun.

Simon Daws from Ironbridge won the Fell Runner of the Year award.

Greg Wilson won the best male cross country performance for his excellent victories in the British Masters Over 50's Cross country Championships. Claire Martin won the womens award for her selection for the England womens cross country team last winter. Kelsey Collins and Josh Geritz won the junior best cross country performance awards. Kim Fawke, who finished a superb 7th in the Inter Counties Cross Country Championships at Nottingham earlier this year won the best Telford AC performance at those championships. The mosty improved cross country young athletes awards went to Kelsey Collins and Alex Russell. Whilst Ryan Heath won the Sheila Norton Trophy for the most cross country points scored by a club athlete. The most senior cross country points awards for the seniors went to Chris Bagshaw and Claire Martin whilst Cheralyn Evans and Greg Wilson won the veterans awards.

The best sportshall performances of the year awards were won by Sophie Worrall whilst Edward Dawes and Ryan Heath shared the boys award. Bethan Partridge and Sean Saxon won the senior indoor best performances.

The club hold their Annual General Meeting on Thursday 18th October at 8 pm at the White Horse, Wrockwardine Wood. All members welcome to attend.

Paul Sanderson

Di Davies, equal GB high jump record holder (1.95m) inspiring our own high jumper Bethan Partridge ( 1.72m), with mum Kate Partridge

Mandy Garrott,
10 Dec 2009, 09:32