Cross Country‎ > ‎

Shropshire Schools Cross Country

Shropshire Schools Cross Country Championships 2015 - Oswestry

Hundreds of students from schools and colleges throughout Shropshire took part in the Annual Shropshire Schools Cross Country Championships held at Oswestry on Saturday. Alex Burrows from William Brookes School scored an impressive 5th consecutive victory in these championships as he strode to an impressive victory in the senior boys race. The Broseley athlete who was 8th in the recent Midland Championships has won the Shropshire Schools title every year since he was in Year 7 and became the first boy to ever win the title in all four age groups.  In second place was another William Brookes athlete Matt Griffiths, whilst Theo Clarke in 3rd and Oscar Dickins in 4th led Shrewsbury School to a convincing team victory to give their school the title for the 5th consecutive year. 

Fian Sweeney won her first Shropshire Schools title having joined Thomas Telford School this academic year from a West Midlands School to become the first girl from her school to win this title since 1993.  Fian, from Weston Under Lizard who was 9th in the recent Midlands Championships at Nottingham had a 7 second winning margin over Shrewsbury Schools Olivia Papaionannou in second with  Wellington's Issy Bradley who has four county schools titles to her credit from Newport Girls High School in 3rd and Wrekin College's Dani Rowlinson in 4th. Shrewsbury School with three girls in the first 6 comfortably won the second of three team titles. 

Wrockwardine Wood School's Eva Wade, the 2013 junior girls champion, won the intermediate girls title with 21 seconds to spare over second placed Georgie Benbow from Wrekin College, who went onto win the team race with Phoebe Smith 5th and Hannah Blackstad 12th. Eve Lucas from Belvidere School took her first Shropshire Schools medal in 3rd with Immie Evans from Shrewsbury in 4th.

Stan Willis from William Brookes won the intermediate boys race. Willis who was a brilliant 5th in the recent Midland Championships was running in his first County Schools Cross Country Championships having moved to the county from Bedfordshire. Thomas Telford's Joel Roura in second place led the Thomas Telford School to a team victory for the very first time in this age group. Joel was well supported by Jamie Ward in 5th, Dylan Gillet in 7th, Harry Cresswell 8th, Sam McGowan 9th and Ethan Rochelle 13th. Cameron van Onselen the 2012 Year 7 Champion from The Corbet School, Baschurch, took 3rd place just 4 seconds ahead of Charlie Tait - Harris who led Shrewsbury School team to the team silver medals.

Jess Humphreys from Telford who attends Shrewsbury High School, won the junior girls race ahead of second placed Kate Farnell from Thomas Telford. Jess repeated the feat achieved by her mum, then Mel Butterfield who won the same race in 1979 when running for Madeley Court School. Shrewsbury High School with four girls in the top 14 took the team title whilst Thomas Telford were 2nd and Wrekin College third teams in this age group. Jazmin Maddocks from The Corbet School took the individual bronze medal.

Callum Mitchelmore won his first ever County Schools title and the first from his school Mary Webb, Pontesbury in this age group since 1995. Harry Remnant was just 3 secdonds adrift in second but he did get a gold medal as he led his Shrewsbury School team to the team title. Oliver Carvell and Kieran Clarke from Bridgnorth Endowed School were 3rd and 4th. 

Oldbury Wells School's Abbie Nolan was an impressive winner in the Year 7 girls race with Leonie Bottomley from Newport GIrls High School running well to finish second and lead her team to win the team title for the very first time. Cameron - Ellie Mander from Burton Borough School took the bronze medal finishing third. The Corbet School's Liam Rawlings followed up his superb run in the inter county match at Bridgnorth in November and recovered from recent illness to take the Year 7 boys title with a 23 second winning margin over Lacon Childe's Charlie Brown with Thomas Telford's Barney Bithell in 3rd. Ludlow School took the team title for the very first time in this age group with thier first 3 scorers in the leading 8 runners.

The first 6 in the junior, intermediate and senior age groups will automatically be selected to represent Shropshire in the English Schools Championships to be held in Blackburn, Lancashire in March. 
Paul Sanderson
Blackburn Results 2015.htm
Paul Sanderson,
30 Apr 2015, 03:36
Paul Sanderson,
9 Mar 2015, 09:00
Paul Sanderson,
29 Apr 2015, 12:48
Paul Sanderson,
9 Mar 2015, 09:49